Europolar is back on line
Home arrow Reviews arrow Guillermo Saccomanno: 77
PDF Print
Friday, 06 November 2009

Guillermo Saccomanno: 77

Buenos Aires: Planeta, 2008. 280 págs. 9,68 €.


Sébastien Rutés
Translated into English by Anne Harrap

Before taking with me as holiday reading the marvellous Voyage by Sterling Hayden, I read 77, by the Argentine Guillermo Saccomanno. His book won the Hammett prize, at the annual Semana Negra Spanish-language crime writing festival in Gijón,  northern Spain; the very least I can say is that I feel the award was in no way wrongly attributed. Much has been written on the horrors of the Argentinean dictatorship, particularly in crime writing, but rarely with such evocative power, simultaneously fascinating and terrifying, except perhaps in the work of poets like Juan Gelman.  Saccomanno does not merely talk about the horror; he embodies it in terrifying allegorical scenes.

 

Even after four weeks, I was finding it impossible to forget the part where the silent narrator watches a neighbour's homosexual son perform an emotionally touching dance while the telephone rings with anonymous screams from a torture centre; or the one where a clairvoyant refuses to reveal to a mother what has happened to her disappeared son because of the impossibility of penetrating the cagoules; or indeed the one where a father, powerless to act and who has suffered a heart attack trying to commit suicide on hearing of his son's disappearance, mindlessly hurls his wheelchair against the wall; all the while his wife is in the sitting room with her lover.

Try as I might, it is impossible to convey the poetic and destructive force of Saccomanno's images!

What I can talk about, however, is the debate which I feel the novel sets up with By Night in Chile by the Chilean author Roberto Bolaño. The two stories have much in common. The narrators are both literary figures, a teacher of literature in Saccomanno's case, a poet priest and literary critic in Bolaño's; two homosexuals trying to survive in a dictatorship and to preserve a way of life centred on literature and the supremacy of art as justification for neutrality and inaction. Attempting to stay on the margins of the dirty war, perched at the top of their literary ivory tower where political neutrality and the ideal of aesthetic beauty preserve them from the horror, results in diverging destinies.  Nevertheless, the two novels pose the same questions: Is there a way of literature, a third way, that of neither the soldier nor the revolutionary? Can art be neutral?  In times of civil war, does the ivory tower of literature exist?

Bolaño, as ever undeceived, is definite; this presumption of aesthetic neutrality leads to compromise with the killers, as illustrated in the final scene at the home of Maria Canales where the army tortures people in the basement during her poetry soirées. Saccomanno is much less categorical. Although the sympathies of the teacher Gomez obviously lie with the former group, his apartment sees encounters between guerrillas and soldiers, as it does between friends or lovers, and finally the love letters left there by a young lesbian revolutionary create an aesthetic space of inalienable purity in the midst of the horror, a literary mise en abyme where the teacher takes refuge and finally finds redemption. The same was not true of Urrutia, latterly employed as an impromptu teacher of Marxism to Pinochet's military junta, and constantly persecuted, even on his death-bed, by his conscience and the shadow of the author.

Saccomanno, for his part, arfully leaves the door open for Gomez and does not take a stand on the question of the ivory tower.

To be published in France  by 77  L'Atinoir,

Published  in Spanish in Diez Negritos, 23-08-2009.

http://dieznegritos.latinoir.com/

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 01 June 2010 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Critiques arrow Guillermo Saccomanno: 77
Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
06-11-2009

Guillermo Saccomanno: 77

Buenos Aires: Planeta, 2008. 280 págs. 9,68 €.


Écrit et traduit par Sébastien Rutés

77Avant d’emporter en vacances le merveilleux Voyage de Sterling Hayden, j’ai lu 77, de l’Argentin Guillermo Saccomanno, qui a reçu cette année le prix Hammett que la Semaine Noire de Gijón décerne chaque année au meilleur roman noir en espagnol : le moins que je puisse dire, c’est que ce prix ne me paraît pas usurpé. On a beaucoup écrit sur l’horreur de la dictature argentine, en particulier les auteurs de romans noirs, mais rares sont ceux qui l’ont fait avec un pouvoir d’évocation aussi fascinant et terrifiant à la fois, à part peut-être des poètes comme Juan Gelman, entre autres. Saccomanno ne fait pas que parler de l’horreur : il l’incarne dans d’effrayantes scènes à valeur d’allégorie.

Un mois après la lecture, impossible d’oublier les pages dans lesquelles le narrateur silencieux observe danser pathétiquement le fils homosexuel d’un voisin tandis que résonnent au téléphone les cris anonymes d’un centre de torture ; ou celles où une voyante refuse de faire à une mère des révélations sur son fils disparu, parce qu’il est impossible de voir à travers les cagoules ; ou encore celles où un père impotent, victime d’une attaque cardiaque en essayant de se suicider après avoir appris la disparition de son fils, lance mécaniquement sa chaise roulante contre un mur pendant que sa femme se trouve dans le salon avec son amant…

C’est inutile : je n’arrive pas à faire sentir la force poétique autant que destructrice des images de Saccomanno !

Ce dont je peux parler, par contre, c’est du débat qu’il me semble que le roman instaure avec Nocturne du Chili, du chilien Roberto Bolaño. Les deux œuvres ont de nombreux points communs : leurs narrateurs sont des hommes de lettres, professeur de littérature chez Saccomanno, prêtre poète et critique littéraire chez Bolaño, deux homosexuels qui tentent de survivre dans la dictature et de préserver un mode de vie centré sur la littérature et l’omnipotence de l’art comme justification à la neutralité et l’inaction. Des efforts pour rester en marge de la guerre sale, perchés au sommet de leur tour d’ivoire littéraire où la neutralité politique et l’idéal de la beauté esthétique les préservent de l’horreur, qui leurs valent des destins différents. Pour autant, les deux romans posent les mêmes questions : existe-t-il une voie littéraire ? une troisième voie qui ne soit ni celle des militaires ni celle des révolutionnaires ? l’art peut-il être neutre ? en période de guerre civile, les tours d’ivoire littéraires existent-elles ?

Bolaño, désillusionné comme toujours, tranche catégoriquement : la prétendue neutralité de l’art conduit à se compromettre avec les bourreaux, comme l’illustre la scène finale de la maison de María Canales, dans les caves de laquelle les militaires torturent les soirs de veillée poétique. Saccomanno est bien moins catégorique : bien que les sympathies du professeur Gómez pour les premiers soient évidentes, dans son appartement se croisent guerrilleros et militaires, amis ou amants, et les lettres d’amour qu’y oublie une jeune révolutionnaire lesbienne finissent par y créer un espace poétique d’une inaltérable pureté au milieu de l’horreur, une mise en abyme littéraire où se réfugie le professeur pour trouver finalement la rédemption. Ce n’était pas le cas d’Urrutia, improvisé finalement professeur de marxisme pour l’état-major de Pinochet, et persécuté jusque sur son lit de mort par sa conscience et l’ombre de l’auteur. Pour sa part, Saccomanno, avec beaucoup de subtilité, laisse la porte ouverte à Gómez et ne prend pas position sur la question de la tour d’ivoire…

Il semble que 77 sera publié en France par L’Atinoir, ce dont je me réjouis d’avance.


----------------
Publié en espagnole dans Diez Negritos , 23-08-2009.
Dernire mise jour : ( 01-06-2010 )
 
< Prcdent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com