Europolar is back on line
Home arrow Articles arrow DARIO ARGENTO: THE DEMON EYES OF ITALIAN CINEMA
DARIO ARGENTO: THE DEMON EYES OF ITALIAN CINEMA PDF Print
Thursday, 27 March 2008

DARIO ARGENTO: THE DEMON EYES OF ITALIAN CINEMA

 

Review: Matteo Poletti  (1)

Translation: Karen Vincent-Jones (2)
 

“My films aren’t really proper thrillers, they’re more like mathematical exercises in narrative time and tension”

Nowadays, after ten years of cinematic flops- his last film, The Three Mothers, made in 2007, received almost universally poor reviews - critics have filed away Dario Argento the genius, and downgraded him to a churner-out of violent or ludicrous B-movies. But Argento was and still is one of the most innovative film makers in Italian cinema, carrying on a tradition that combines elements of the thriller, fantasy and horror genres, and who has gained many fans and imitators, in Italy and the United States.

Argento, born in 1940, began his career in cinema as a film critic, so his approach to the seventh art is first and foremost analytical. He refers to his films as ‘exercises’, that is, re-workings, deconstructions, and reinterpretations of all that the cinema of the past has to offer. He can be viewed as the missing link between the classic cinema of Hitchcock, Fritz Lang, Tourneur, and Siodmak and the first wave of innovation of the 1960s represented by directors like Mario Bava or Lucio Fulci. Argento has chosen  the thriller as his chosen vehicle for arousing terror in the viewer, deploying and intensifying the conventions of the genre: technical virtuosity, pauses, silences, suspense, chiaroscuro, but also blood, torture, all the gory slasher movie features that make viewers avert their eyes.

The viewer does not so much watch an Argento film as submit to it: every sequence is a death scene and viewers are forced into the role of passive observers. They are powerless to act, just like the people in the film, who are persecuted, endangered and finally put to death, mere puppets or objects, their bodies “used” by the director to create suspense. The eye, vision and the visual are the axis that the films revolve around. The Bird with the Crystal Plumage (1970) opens with a crime that a writer, Tony Musante witnesses while trapped behind a glass door and is unable to prevent. In Cat o’ Nine Tails (1971) the reporter who investigates the crime is blind. In Flies on Grey Velvet (1972) the clue lies in a photograph of the latest victim’s retina, which still retains the last image she saw. David Hemmings, the main character in Deep Red (1975), catches a glimpse of the murderer’s reflection in a mirror. And without mentioning Stendhal Syndrome (1996), where Asia Argento’s eyes “see through” the canvases displayed in the Uffizi Gallery, or Opera (1987), in which the murderer props up Christina Marsillach’s eyelids with needles to force her to watch, wide-eyed, as he commits his brutal crimes.

However, for Argento, seeing is never the same as understanding: none of the main characters fully grasps the image that the eyes convey to the brain. Tony Musante’s interpretation of the scene he glimpses turns out to be mistaken; in fact the roles of  victim and  aggressor are reversed, and it is only at the end that Hemmings realises that  he saw the murderer’s face in the mirror. Looking, seeing, watching are actions which do not lead to the truth, but only to death: the one who knows must be eliminated. An equation  is set up between “characters =spectators= victims” (often reinforced by the use of a stage or a theatre, as in Flies on Grey Velvet, Opera, Deep Red, and The Phantom of the Opera) which emphasises the complete interchangeability of these roles. Protagonists, witnesses, victims and observers are in the hands of whoever plans the crime. The real murderer is the one who sets the scene and shows it to us- in fact, the director himself.

Argento works with what is visible and what is hidden. He reveals and hides at the same time, alternating between the long shot and the close-up, sometimes at great speed (his editing is often violent and his zoom shots unexpected), he takes advantage of every technical trick in the book, every macabre effect (sometimes sliding into slasher territory) to challenge the viewer to keep watching. So the urge to keep watching fights with the urge to ‘stop watching’ or finding it ‘unbearable to watch’.

 

“My films set out to be truthful, not realistic. They start by being rational and then become hyper-rational, and then end up as irrational and frenzied”, says Argento. The rationality is found in the main characters, amateur detectives, journalists, writers, artists, or musicians, although they too have a touch of the irrational or instinctive- they are are nearly all artistic or creative characters- but they live a “normal” life. Also the places, the cities where they live, are rational, or rather, “real”.

However this normality is destined to crumble at the moment when the characters are confronted with irrationality, psychological deviance and madness: all Argento’s murderers have within them a flaw, an obssession that expresses itself in criminal acts. The characters are forced to go on a distorted, visionary and fantastic journey where reason is progressively destroyed and the unnatural, the different and the monstrous (like the child-monster in Phenomena) penetrates and subverts the normal known universe. Even the cities become “fantastic”, places, unreal and distorted by photography that emphasises their menacing and sinister qualities. We can cite the disturbing geometry of Torin and its grand buildings, and the abandoned villas with their premonitions of death in Cat o’ Nine Tails, Deep Red, and Sleepless, the light-filled and futuristic Rome of Tenebrae, the dark New York of Inferno, or the Gothic and fairytale Friburg of Suspiria. The city’s reality is undermined; urban settings start to look like evil places, the breeding grounds for almost supernatural happenings and macabre events.

This constant  fluctuation between rationality and irrationality enables Argento to modulate from the classic thriller (Sleepless, Deep Red, the earliest films from the Seventies) and fantasy, and then to decend into the darkest depths of horror. It is no accident that The Three Mothers is the last in a trilogy of black fantasy that begins with Suspiria (1976) and continues with Inferno (1980). The natural and the supernatural blend in a danse macabre (the crimes so magically choreographed by Argento!) where evil, human or satanic, is portrayed in all its manifestations. The eyes, again, can see only one aspect, the physical effects. The abstract and the extra-sensory manifest themselves in concrete form in the tormented, tortured, shredded bodies dispatched before our eyes.  

Nowadays Argento is accused of poverty of ideas, of scrappy screenplays, incoherence and a lack of aesthetic sense. The critics hate his work, seeing it as aggressive, obscene, and kitsch.  But Argento has always pursued his ‘exercises’ in the creation of suspense, and the  expansion of narrative in the service of a cinematic vision which mixes the intangible and the corporeal, which crosses over from the possible to the improbable, to madness and black magic.  

Argento has remained faithful to his own aesthetics and his own style; in line with our times, this director has continued to speak to us of the excesses of vision, of our addiction to scenes of cruelty, tragedy, violence (do we now look away from the bleakness that television presents us with?); he has carried on exploiting film references and clichés in order to lead viewers to the magic and sinister lands of the horror story, filmic demons, normal situations that become weird, inexplicable, and terrifying; he has developed and enriched a genre – the thriller, ignored in Italy until the seventies- which has often been unjkustly snubbed or relegated to the category of mere entertainment.      


(1)Matteo Poletti was born (in 1979) and lives in the province of Turin. He has degrees in Educational Studies and History of the Cinema from the University of Turin. His day job in a restaurant in a beautiful mountain village in Alta Valsusa gives him the time and the peace to indulge in his other two passions: film and writing. He is a contributor to movie websites and writes crime novels that have been front runners in major literary competitions. In 2007 his first police thriller Lo sguardo di Carola  (Carola’s Eyes) won first prize in the “Hidden Clue” competition organised by the Terza Pagina publishing house. 
(2)Karen Vincent-Jones studied French and Italian at the University of Exeter. She has the dubious distinction of having been deported from Italy in 1971 after a police raid on a party and a round-up of undesirable foreigners. She ventured back for the occasional holiday, and later, having become a ‘citizen above suspicion’ and a university lecturer, returned as Visiting Professor to the University of Bologna, first in 1988, when the university was in uproar over the assassination of the Dean of the Political Science Faculty, Senator Roberto Ruffilli, by the Red Brigades. She went back again in 1991, this time arriving to find the city paralysed by mass anti-war demonstrations. Italy is an exciting place… She is now a full-time translator. 
Last Updated ( Thursday, 14 August 2008 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Articles/ essais arrow DARIO ARGENTO: les yeux diaboliques du Cinéma
DARIO ARGENTO: les yeux diaboliques du Cinéma Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
27-03-2008

Dario Argento: les yeux diaboliques du Cinéma

 da Matteo Poletti *
traduit de l'italien par Kentaro Okuba

Mes films ne sont pas de vrais et purs films noirs, mais des études un peu mathématiques sur les temps narratifs et sur la tension.”

Aujourd'hui, après une décennie de films-flop (le dernier "LE TRE MADRI (les trois mères) " de 2007,  a été unanimement malmené), la critique a archivé le génie de Dario Argento, en déclassant le metteur en scène comme un artisan de séries B truculentes ou absurdes. Et pourtant Argento est et demeure l'un des auteurs les plus innovants du cinéma italien, gardien d'un filon qui comprend et mélange le thriller, le fantastique et l'horreur, modèle pour les prosélytes et les disciples, tant en Italie qu'en Amérique.

Argento, né en 1940, vient au cinéma en tant que critique, et par conséquent son approche du septième art est analytique avant toute chose. Il parle de ses films comme d'"études", de recréations, de décompositions, de réinterprétations de tout ce peut offrir le passé filmographique. Il peut être désigné comme trait d'union entre le cinéma classique (représenté par Hitchcock, Fritz Lang, Tourneur, Siodmak) et les premiers essais de renouvellement des années Soixante (mis en oeuvre par des réalisateurs comme Mario Bava ou Lucio Fulci). Argento choisit le thriller comme véhicule pour susciter la terreur chez le spectateur, utilisant et portant au paroxysme les topoi du genre : les virtuosités techniques, les pauses, les silences, les attentes, les clairs-obscurs, mais aussi le sang, les sévices, les éléments plus gore qui obligent le public à détourner le regard.

Voir est donc synonyme de "subir" ; chacune des séquences élaborées par Argento est une mise en scène de la mort et le spectateur est relégué dans un rôle d'observateur passif. Il ne peut intervenir, à la manière des personnages des films qui, persécutés, en danger et massacrés enfin, ne sont autre que des pantins, des objets, des corps "usés" par le metteur en scène pour construire le suspense.

L'oeil, la vue, la vision, sont le pivot autour duquel tournent les films. L'UCCELLO DALLE PIUME DI CRISTALLO (L'oiseau aux plumes de cristal, 1970)  s'ouvre avec un crime que l'écrivain Tony Musante, emprisonné dans une vitrine, voit et qu'il ne peut éviter. Dans IL GATTO A NOVE CODE (le chat à neuf queues, 1971), celui qui enquête est aveugle. Dans QUATTRO MOSCHE DI VELLUTO GRIGIO (Quatre mouches de velours gris, 1972), on réussit à photographier la rétine d'une des victimes qui contient l'ultime image perçue par ses yeux. David Hemmings, protagoniste de PROFONDO ROSSO (Rouge profond, 1975) voit en passant, presque au début, l'assassin reflété dans un miroir. Pour ne pas parler de LA SINDROME DI STENDHAL (Le syndrome de Stendhal, 1996), où l'oeil d'Asia Argento "pénètre" les toiles exposées au musée des Offices, ou d'OPERA (1987), dans lequel le meurtrier épingle les paupières de Christina Marsillach pour la contraindre à assister les yeux grands ouverts aux crimes atroces qu'il commet.

Toutefois, pour Argento, voir ne signifie jamais comprendre : aucun des personnages ne saisit ce que l'oeil transmet au cerveau. La scène perçue par Tony Musante se révèle fausse en réalité (les rôles de la victime et de l'agresseur résulteront inverses de ce qu'ils apparaissaient), Hemmings comprend seulement à la fin (et avec lui, nous aussi les spectateurs) qu'il a vu le visage de l'assassin dans le miroir. Regarder, voir, observer, sont des actions qui ne conduisent pas à la vérité, mais seulement à la mort (celui qui sait doit être éliminé). Il se crée une équation "personnages = spectateurs = victimes" (souvent exaltée par l'usage des scènes ou des théâtres, par exemple dans QUATTRO MOSCHE DI VELLUTO GRIGIO, dans OPERA, dans PROFONDO ROSSO, ou IL FANTASMA DELL'OPERA - Le fantôme de l'opéra) qui souligne la totale interchangeabilité de ces rôles. Protagonistes, témoins, victimes et spectateurs sont dans les mains de celui qui construit le crime. Le véritable assassin est donc celui qui prépare la scène et qui la montre : en somme le metteur en scène lui-même.

Argento travaille sur le visible et sur le célé. Il montre et il camoufle en même temps, il oscille entre le premier plan et le plan éloigné (souvent les contrastes sont violents, les zoom des "coups d'oeil" soudains), il exploite chaque expédient, chaque expérimentation technique, chaque effet macabre (glissant parfois dans le gore) comme défi à la supportabilité du regard du spectateur. Vouloir voir contraste donc avec le "non pouvoir" voir et avec le "non pouvoir réussir à" voir.

 "Mes films naissent pour être vraisemblables, non réalistes. Avec un chemin qui prend la voie du rationnel pour rejoindre l'hyper-rationnel et donc aborder à l'irrationnel et au délire" affirme Argento. Le rationnel se trouve dans les personnages, détectives improvisés, journalistes, écrivains, musiciens : s'ils ont bien quelque chose d'irrationnel ou d'instinctif (ils sont presque tous des artistes ou des créateurs), ils mènent une existence "normale". Rationnels, ou mieux, "réels" sont en outre les lieux, les villes dans lesquels ils vivent.

Toutefois cette normalité est destinée à s'écrouler au moment où les personnage entrent en conflit avec l'irrationalité, la déviance mentale, la folie : tous les assassins d'Argento portent en eux une tare, une obsession qui débouche sur des actions criminelles. Les protagonistes sont contraints d'entreprendre un voyage tordu, visionnaire, fantastique où la raison est graduellement annulée et l'innaturel, le divers, le monstrueux (on pense au bébé-monstre de PHENOMENA) pénètre et défait cet univers habituel et connu. Même les villes deviennent des lieux "fantastiques", irréels et déformés par une photographie qui emphatise leur aspect menaçant et sinistre. On pense aux géométries inquiétantes de Turin, avec ses palais et les villas abandonnées et présages de mort dans IL GATTO A NOVE CODE, PROFONDO ROSSO ou NONHOSONNO (je n'ai pas sommeil), à la Rome lumineuse et futuriste de TENEBRE, à la New York sombre de INFERNO, à la Fribourg gothique et féerique de SUSPIRIA. La réalité des villes est dénaturée ; les décors urbains prennent les apparences de lieux malins, foyers de phénomènes quasi supranaturels et d'événements macabres.

L'oscillation entre rationalité et irrationalité permet à Argento de s'éloigner du polar classique (celui de NONHOSONNO, PROFONFO ROSSO, des premiers films des années soixante-dix) vers la fantasy, jusqu'à pénétrer dans l'abîme de l'horreur. Naturel et surnaturel se fondent en une danse macabre (combien de chorégraphies magiques nous trouvons dans les meurtres mis en scène par Argento !) où le mal, humain ou diabolique, est filmé dans tous ses aspects. L'oeil, de nouveau, ne sait en prendre qu'une partie, ne sait voir que les effets physiques. L'abstrait et l'extrasensoriel se matérialisent dans la concrétude des corps torturés, violentés, mis en pièces, brisés devant nos yeux.

Aujourd'hui, on accuse Argento de pauvreté d'idée, de carence de mise en scène, de manque de cohérence et d'absence de sens esthétique. Les critiques détestent son travail truculent, obscène, kitsch. Mais Argento n'a rien fait d'autre que de continuer son "étude" sur la création du suspense, sa dilatation du sens narratif en fonction d'un cinéma visionnaire, qui mélange l'intangible à la corporéité, qui part du possible pour atteindre l'invraisemblable, la folie, la magie noire.

Argento est resté fidèle à sa poétique et à son style ; en ligne avec notre époque, cet auteur a continué à nous parler des excès de la vision, de l'accoutumance que le public a aujourd'hui des scènes cruelles, tragiques, hard (ils détournent aujourd'hui le regard de la misère que la télé a dédouanée ?) ; il a continué à exploiter les citations filmiques et les lieux communs pour conduire ses spectateurs dans les territoires sinistres et magiques des fées horror, des incubes cinématographiques, des situations communes qui deviennent excessives, inexplicables, angoissantes ; il a développé et enrichi un genre (le thriller, peu fréquent en Italie jusqu'aux années soixante-dix) qui a souvent été snobé ou relégué comme un pur divertissement.

 


* Matteo Poletti est né - en 1979- et vit dans la province de Turin. Il est diplômé en Science de la Formation et en Histoire du Cinéma à l’Université de Turin. Son travail “traditionnel” dans un restaurant d’un délicieux petit village de l’Alta Valsusa lui concède le temps libre et la tranquillité nécessaires à ses autres passions ; le cinéma et l’écriture. Il collabore donc aux sites en ligne dédiés au Cinéma et écrit des histoires policières qui ont obtenu un classement flatteur dans d’importants concours littéraires. EN 2007, avec son premeir polar “Lo sguardo di Carola (le regard de Carole)”, il a gagné le concours “L’indizio nascosto (l’indice caché)”  organisé pour la première année par les éditions Terza Pagina.  

 

Dernière mise à jour : ( 14-08-2008 )
 
< Précédent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribué sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com