Europolar is back on line
Home arrow Portraits arrow Juan Bas: Long live the Republic and the Spirit of Wine!
Juan Bas: Long live the Republic and the Spirit of Wine! PDF Print
Wednesday, 09 April 2008

Juan Bas: Long live the Republic and the Spirit of Wine!

Translation by Jeffrey Tabberner
Image 

It is not easy to decide whether Juan Bas should be considered as a Spanish author who was born in Baskenland, or simply as a Basque author. There are arguments on both sides.

In support of the thesis of a Spanish author with Basque origins, Bas shows himself to be a fierce critic of every form of Basque nationalism, whether the conservative sort represented by the government party PNV (Partido Nacionalista Vasco), or the other one, which with ETA, has kept the Spanish republic in suspense over decades, and which is still, to say the least, tying itself in knots. Anyone who attacks the leading Basque newspaper El Correo, can expect to find himself faced with sharp-tongued and mocking attacks by the author against the conservative side, and an indignant, and in his own judgment unequivocal position on separatist terrorism.

Supporting the thesis of a Basque author, Baskenland continues to be the setting for his novels, in which historical and political themes as well as national aspirations find a place. So, in his novel ‘La cuenta atrás’ (which can be roughly translated as ‘A Closed Account’) the hero begins his boxing career as a stone thrower, a strange and seemingly archaic Basque sport, in which whoever can lift the largest rock above his head wins. His novel ‘Alacranes en su tinta’ (‘Scorpion in its own Juice’) is amongst other things an explicit reckoning with ETA, after the publication of which he was officially advised to employ a bodyguard, which still today many people in Basque public life feel obliged to do.

After breaking off his law studies at the start of the nineteen-eighties, Juan Bas began his writing career as a scriptwriter for television. He wrote, amongst other things, 13 episodes of the first Basque sitcom ‘Juntos y Revuetos’, which today he himself describes as pretty bad, and worked for various Spanish television channels. A series called ‘Paginas ocultas de la historia (‘Hidden Pages of History’), that he wrote together with author and childhood friend Fernando Marías, achieved cult status. In an elegant manner, it linked together historical events and fictional elements, causing confusion amongst well-informed Spanish citizens. So in ‘La otra muerte der Federico García Lorca’ (‘The Other Death of Federico García Lorca’) the news arrives, in the style of investigative journalism, that Lorca did not die in the attempted murder plot by Spanish nationalists in 1936, but that suffering from a bullet wound to the head, he was cared for by nuns in a convent until his death in 1934. The series’ success led to both authors working on the script for a volume of short stories which appeared in 1999 under the same title, and which for Juan Bas represented the real beginning of his literary work.

 This was followed by a volume of short stories called ‘La taberna de los tres monos’, which brought together fifteen stories under the title of ‘Die Taverne zu den drei Affen’ in the German translation by Fritz Rudolf Fries, published by Europa-Verlag in 2003. This showed Bas’ talent for compression, the ability to create a dramatic atmosphere in a few sentences. [As a fan and a connoisseur of the ‘Genero negro’, and thus of the crime novel, he carefully chooses elements with many literary allusions to provide the excitement.]

 This was followed by two children’s novels, which, because of their historical background, many adult readers also read with pleasure. In ‘El oro de los carlistas’ (The Gold of the Carlistas’), published in 2001, the hero, Nicolás Gorstiza, who participated in the first Carlista war, recounts his experiences. Here again, the republican Juan Bas makes his appearance, criticising in the novel the monarchist movement with its absolutist Catholic convictions, and thus also lending support to work in the best sense.

 The children’s novel ‘Glabro, legionario de Roma’ (‘Glabro, Roman Legionary’), which promptly appeared in the following year, also tackled the war theme in a critical manner. The scene is Rome, and the first-person narrator this time is a Roman gladiator, who recalls his time as a legionnaire under Quintus Sertorius, who in 83 BC became Governor of the Spanish provinces.

 The next book by Juan Bas marks a pause, dedicated as it is to a private passion, namely drinking. ‘Tratado sobre la resaca’ (A Tract on the Hangover’) is a successful attempt to bring to the reader’s attention all the pleasures of drinking, in a highly amusing way. It also gives medical advice for the ‘day after’, as well as philosophical reflections, and the book is peppered with genuine and fictitious anecdotes, and many literary and cinematic allusions to the sometimes-unpredictable effects of alcoholic consumption.

 The novel ‘La cuenta atrás’ (‘A Closed Account’) features the reflections of former European heavyweight champion José Luis Arrida, who, as already mentioned, began his international career in the depths of the Basque provinces as a stone thrower, and just before his leap into the void sees his life pass before him. It is a black-humoured and unsentimental account of a shattered existence, which in his description of the ‘human condition’ reaches a universal dimension but, alas, does not receive the response it deserves.

 The novel ‘Alacranes en su tinta’ (‘Scorpion in its own Juice’), that also appeared in 2002, meant for Juan Bas a national and international breakthrough. The novel was translated into French, Russian and German, and at the Bilbao Book Fair it received the ‘Pluma de Plata’ for the bestselling book of the year. ‘Alacranes en su tinta’ (‘Scorpion in its own Juice’) is the story of a merciless campaign of vengeance, which as a series of confessions, is embedded in a background story located in Bilbao in the year 2000. The foolish hero, Pacho Murga Bustamente, chronically short of money, makes friends with the already greying Astigarraga, with whom he shares a love of haute cuisine, and opens the gourmet restaurant ‘The Bilbao World’s Menu’. While still intoxicated by a resounding success, Pacho is confronted by the written confessions of his partner and friend, after his fevered examination of which, it all ends in an angry showdown in the famous Bilbao Guggenheim Museum. This novel is politically explosive, because it portrays an explicit reckoning with ETA, in a manner so rare in Spanish literature.

 The deadbeat hero Pacho Murga Bustamente meets the reader again in Bas’ next novel, ‘Voracidad’ (‘Greed’), for which the author received the Premio Euskadi de Literatura (Basque Prize for Literature) in 2007. With the same stylistic energy as in ‘Alacranes en su tinta’ (‘Scorpion in its own Juice’), which pays homage to the grotesque in a masterly fashion, the reader is led, together with a garish collection of waxworks, into the depths of human desire, which here also lead to a crime of vengeance. Bas doesn’t allow himself either to get involved in various sideswipes against Basque nationalism or to indulge in negative criticism of the media, and consequently to denounce the excesses of a modern, and at the same time, a backward-looking society.

 In the last year the numerous articles from El Correo appeared in book form, and the new novel with the title ‘Es saxo es mi marido’ (‘I married a Saxophone’) is currently being reworked.

 Juan Bas is not only a tireless, clear-sighted and acerbic critic of current social and political events, but he is also blessed with enormous productivity, interrupted by frequent public readings, film sessions and copious dry martinis – of the best quality, of course

 
Last Updated ( Tuesday, 20 May 2008 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Portraits arrow Juan Bas – "Vive la république et l’esprit du vin !“
Juan Bas – "Vive la république et l’esprit du vin !“ Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
09-04-2008

Juan Bas – Vive la république et l'esprit du vin"

traduit par Charlotte FRITSCH

Image

Juan Bas est-il un auteur espagnol, né au Pays Basque, ou tout simplement un auteur basque ? Difficile à dire. De nombreux arguments viennent étayer ces deux qualificatifs.

Pour le côté "auteur espagnol d’origine basque", on peut noter qu’il est un ardent critique de toutes les formes de nationalisme basque, que ce soit l’aspect conservateur représenté par le PNV, le Parti national basque (Partido Nacionalista Vasco, en castillan) ou l‘ETA qui depuis des décennies garde la république espagnole en haleine ou du moins ne cesse de la tordre de convulsions. Dans les colonnes d’El Correo, on peut régulièrement lire ses attaques moqueuses et acerbes à l’encontre du côté conservateur et ses prises de positions sans équivoque quant au jeu de la terreur auquel se livrent les séparatistes.

Pour le côté "auteur basque", on retient le fait que le Pays Basque sert toujours de décor à ses romans et que les thèmes basques, aussi bien historiques que politiques, ou encore l’unité nationale, y sont souvent abordés. Ainsi, son roman intitulé "La cuenta atrás" (que l’on peut traduire par "Le compte à rebours") relate la carrière d’un boxeur, débutée en tant que leveur de pierre, un sport basque ancestral et étonnant, dans lequel le vainqueur est celui qui parvient à soulever le plus gros bloc de pierre. Son roman "Alacranes en su tinta" ("Scorpions pressés") est entre autres un règlement de comptes explicite avec l‘ETA, qui après l’arrivée du parti officiel au pouvoir, lui a suggéré de prendre un garde du corps, chose qu‘encore de nos jours de nombreuses personnalités basques se voient forcées de faire.

 

Après avoir interrompu ses études de droit, Juan Bas a commencé à écrire au début des années 80, comme scénariste pour la télévision. On lui doit notamment les 13 épisodes de la première sitcom basque "Juntos y revueltos", sur laquelle il porte aujourd’hui un regard assez sévère. Il travaillait alors pour diverses chaînes de télévision espagnoles. L’une de ses séries, intitulée "Páginas ocultas de la historia" ("Les pages cachées de l‘Histoire") et rédigée à quatre mains avec son ami d’enfance, l’écrivain Fernando Marías, est devenue culte. Subtil mélange entre événements historiques et éléments de fiction, cette série semait même la confusion auprès d’espagnols éclairés. Ainsi, dans l’épisode "La otra muerte der Federico García Lorca" ("L’autre mort de Federico García Lorca"), est prétendument apportée la preuve, dans le pur style du journalisme d’investigation, que Lorca n’a pas succombé à la tentative de meurtre perpétrée à son encontre par des nationalistes espagnols en 1936 mais que, atteint de démence en raison d‘une balle reçue à la tête, il fut soigné par des nonnes dans un monastère jusqu’à sa mort en 1954. Le succès de la série a poussé les deux écrivains à remanier les scénarii pour constituer une anthologie, parue en 1999 sous le même titre, et qui marque le véritable début de l’oeuvre littéraire de Juan Bas.

Vint ensuite "La taberna de los tres monos", recueil de quinze histoires autour du poker, traduit par Fritz Rudolf Fries et paru en Allemagne en 2003 sous le titre "La Taverne des trois singes" aux Editions Europa. Ici, le talent de Bas semble se renforcer et l’auteur crée, en quelques phrases, une atmosphère emplie de tensions. En tant que fan et connaisseur du "Género negro", le roman noir, Bas parvient à cette tension narrative par le biais d’éléments choisis avec soin et de nombreuses références littéraires.

Deux romans jeunesse ont suivi, qui en raison de leur arrière-plan historique, ont également comblé un public adulte. En 2001, dans "El oro de los carlistas" ("L’or des Carlistes"), le personnage principal, Nicolás Gorostiza, qui a pris part à la première guerre carliste, raconte son expérience. On retrouve dans ce roman Juan Bas, le républicain, qui s’exerce à la critique de ce mouvement royaliste et réalise ainsi une œuvre très instructive.

Le roman jeunesse "Glabro, legionario de Roma" ("Glabro, légionnaire de Rome"), paru l’année suivante, traite de la guerre, avec ce même oeil critique, avec Rome comme décor et comme narrateur, cette fois, un gladiateur romain, qui se souvient de l’époque où il était légionnaire sous Quintus Sertorius, gouverneur des provinces ibériques en l‘an 83 avant Jésus-Christ.

 

Le livre suivant marque une césure dans l’œuvre de Juan Bas, puisqu’il se consacre à une passion personnelle, à savoir la boisson. "Tratado sobre la resaca" ("Traité sur la gueule de bois") tente avec succès de faire comprendre au lecteur tous les aspects du plaisir de l’alcool sur un ton extrêmement humoristique : on y trouve à la fois des conseils médicaux pour les lendemains de cuite et des considérations philosophiques. Le livre est en outre parsemé d’anecdotes réelles ou fictives et d’une multitude de références littéraires ou cinématographiques autour des effets parfois imprévisibles de l‘alcool.

 

Le roman "La cuenta atrás" ("Compte à rebours") retrace la vie de l’ancien champion d‘Europe des poids lourds José Luis Arrida, qui, comme vu précédemment, débuta sa carrière internationale en tant que leveur de pierre dans la campagne basque profonde et qui, peu avant son saut dans le vide, passe sa vie en revue. C’est le bilan vital, acerbe et sans pitié d’une vie ratée, qui atteint une dimension universelle, dans sa description de la „condition humaine“. Toutefois, ce livre ne reçut malheureusement pas l’accueil escompté.

Le roman "Alacranes en su tinta ("Scorpions pressés"), également paru en 2002, marqua pour Juan Bas une rupture nationale et internationale. Ce roman fut traduit en français (publié en 2005, dans la Collection Série Noire en France), en russe et en allemand et reçu en 2002 au Salon du Livre de Bilbao la Pluma de Plata" en tant que best-seller de l‘année. "Alacranes en su tinta" ("Scorpions pressés") est l’histoire d’une impitoyable vengeance, avec une intrigue sous forme d’aveux, qui se déroule à Bilbao en 2000. Le héros, Pacho Murga Bustamente, jeune oisif imbécile et souffrant de manques chroniques d’argent se lie d’amitié avec Astigarraga, déjà légèrement grisonnant, avec lequel il partage l’amour de la grande gastronomie. Ils ouvrent alors ensemble le restaurant "La Mappemonde de Bilbao". Encore complètement enivré par son succès, Pacho se trouve inopinément confronté aux aveux écrits de son associé et ami, et après les avoir fiévreusement lus, il se rend au prestigieux musée Guggenheim de Bilbao, où il doit fournir le repas de Noël de la mairie. Ce roman est explosif sur le plan politique puisqu’il représente un règlement de compte explicite avec l’ETA, comme il en existe peu dans la littérature espagnole.

Le lecteur retrouve cet anti-héros qu’est Pacho Murga Bustamente dans le roman suivant,  "Voracidad" (Voracité"), roman pour lequel Bas a reçu en 2007 le "Premio Euskadi de Literatura" (prix de la littérature basque). Avec la même fureur stylistique que dans "Alacranes en su tinta" ("Scorpions pressés"), jouant parfaitement avec le grotesque, le lecteur est emmené dans les tréfonds du désir humain, et cette plongée débouche une nouvelle fois sur un crime de vengeance. En outre, Bas ne se prive pas de lancer diverses piques contre le nationalisme basque, de s’exercer à une critique acerbe des médias et de vilipender ainsi les excès d’une société tout à la fois moderne et rétrograde.

L’année dernière sont également sorties, sous forme d’anthologie, les nombreuses colonnes parues dans "El Correo", et un nouveau roman intitulé "Es saxo es mi marido" ("Le saxophone est mon homme").

Juan Bas n’est pas seulement un critique infatigable, perspicace et acerbe des événements sociaux et politiques actuels, mais il est également un écrivain intarissable et studieux, dont les moments de travail sont interrompus par de nombreuses heures de conférence, des séances de film et quelques Dry Martinis, mais uniquement de la meilleure qualité, évidemment.

 

Dernière mise à jour : ( 20-05-2008 )
 
< Précédent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribué sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com