Europolar is back on line
Home arrow News arrow Account of a weekend at Frontignan
Account of a weekend at Frontignan PDF Print
Monday, 14 July 2008

Account of a weekend at Frontignan

   Translator: Chris Warlow

 

"The relationship between historical events and the present changes in meaning and nature when different facts are considered and different angles taken.  The past isn't just there; it still needs to be uncovered, and whatever ties it holds with the present can only be distinguished with hindsight - as new facts and new links make it impossible to know what might come along and change our current understanding of the past.  One thing is certain: a link exists.  But it requires a tireless effort to find out just what it may be." (1)
 

Pro-deculturation litany is heard far and wide in France; its incessant bleeting even inducing occasional bouts of nausea.  Held for the eleventh time in the last week of June 2008 in Frontignan, near Sète, the International Festival of Crime Fiction, FIRN (2), is there to silence such dissonant chanting from dusty old spell-books.

 

ImageAll a visitor really needed was to browse through the bookstands at the foot of the church (particularly the ones holding comic books) to be convinced that culture - real culture - is in no danger here, in the early 21st Century, and that it lives on through the working and re-working of old material - and not by hiding it away like a precious jewel in a casket.

 

Among the works was a Miles Hyman, with the wonderful illustrations he did for Conrad and Dos Passos (3), along with the Lebanese Zeina Abirached's account of her youth in a Beirut under bombs (4) – an epic recalling, at first glance, the style of Marjane Satrapi, but displaying more creativity with its use of graphics.  From the small exhibition devoted to Ambre and David Vandermeulen's work, which reinterprets the first part of Goethe's Faust (5), emanated a beautiful sense of emotion, which was also felt at the exhibition on a little-known socio-religious movement from the early Middle Ages in Germany the peasant wars and the Anabaptists, massacred at the start of the 16th Century.

 

Topical of both past and present, this summertime gathering in celebration of crime fiction in its multiple forms (novel, comic book and film), was marked by the wide array of topics touched upon by the attending authors, affirming the role of the thriller in reflecting the current problems faced by our society: ecological disasters are addressed by the north-Toulousian Pascal Dessaint (6); brutal instability in South Africa by Caryl Ferey (7); difficult changes in Black Africa and tension between tradition and modernity by the Malian Moussa Konaté (8); prostitution rings by Alain Wagneur (9); the new religious tensions in the 18th arrondissement of Paris by Afro-American Jake Lamar (10); politico-religious transformations in Northern Ireland by Colin Bateman (11); a story of organised violence in the US by the excellent Valerio Evangelisti in his new novel (12); and the lingering stench of the Stasi in East Germany in Christian v. Ditfurth's piece (13).  The broad and varied sweep of topics covered, the work of French novelists, proves wrong the belief that French literature has been characterised these past few years by its self-admiration.

 

It was a great intellectual pleasure to note the high level of debate – another strong point of the festival.  It should be stressed, though, just how important the actual direction of debate is – it was so interesting to see how the chair can either stifle debate with a display of their own knowledge, or subtly let the author slip away from trite topics, allowing for true dialogue to spark up between the authors; elegantly weaving links between different worlds.

 

Tribute must be paid to the festival's organisers: to Martine-Hélène Gonzalez, with her incessant comings and goings, just like the ant in the fable, and to the keen presence of Michel Gueorguieff, ever dressed in his charcoal-grey suit.

 

At a time when economic trends are increasingly unpredictable, and their effects on people's lives more and more serious, when European education systems are dancing more and more in time to the beat of an emetic utilitarianism, the importance of festivals like Frontignan should be proclaimed loud and clear.  Creativity, beauty, and intelligence – these are the values that still set us apart from termites, and no Jean-Bernard Pouy, for all his pithy comments, is going to convince me otherwise.

 

Here's to FIRN!

 

 

(1) Elfriede Müller, Alexander Ruoff, in : Le polar français, crime et histoire. Translation by Jean-François Poirier, La fabrique éditions,  2002,  pp.107-108

(2) www.polar-frontignan.org

(3) John Dos Passos, Manhattan Transfer, Futuropolis, 1990 / Joseph Conrad, L'agent secret, Futuropolis, 1992.

(4) Zeina Abirached, [Beyrouth] Catharsis, Cambourakis, 2001.

(5) Ambre and Vandermeulen, Faust (d'après Goethe), 6 pieds sous terre, 2006.

(6) Pascal Dessaint, Cruelles natures, Rivages - thriller, 2007.

(7) Caryl Feyrey, Zulu, Gallimard - série noire, 2007.

(8) Moussa Konaté, L'empreinte du renard, Fayard - Noir, 2006.

(9) Alain Wagneur, Hécatombe-les-bains, Acte sud, Babel noir, 2008.

(10) Jake Lamar, Rendez-vous dans le 18ième, Rivages - Thriller, 2007.

(11) Colin Bateman, Turbulences catholiques, Gallimard - série noire, 2007.

(12) Valerio Evangelisti, Nous ne sommes rien, soyons tout, Rivages – Thriller, 2008.

(13)  Christian v. Ditfurth, Frappé d'aveuglement, éditions Jacqueline Chambon, 2007.

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 16 June 2009 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Les News arrow Chronique d'un week-end Frontignan
Chronique d'un week-end Frontignan Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
14-07-2008

Chronique d'un week-end à Frontignan

 

« La signification et la nature du rapport que l'évènement historique entretient avec le présent changent selon les faits considérés et la perspective adoptée. Le passé n'est pas simplement là, encore faut-il le découvrir et les liens qu'il noue avec le présent ne peuvent être établis qu'après coup, tandis que de nouveaux faits, de nouvelles relations rendent imprévisibles les changements qui peuvent intervenir dans la compréhension que nous en avons. Une chose est sûre, un lien existe. Mais il faut travailler inlassablement pour découvrir de quoi il est fait. » (1)

 

ImageLa litanie des tenants de la déculturation est bien connue en France et il n'est pas rare que son rythme grinçant aille jusqu'à l'écœurement. Le FIRN, Festival International du Roman Noir (2), qui a vu sa onzième édition dans la dernière semaine de juin 2008 à Frontignan, à proximité de Sète, est là pour faire taire le crincrin infâme qui s'échappe des grimoires poussiéreux.

Il suffisait en effet au visiteur de parcourir les stands de livres au pied de l'église et en particulier ceux de BD pour se persuader que la culture, la vraie, n'est pas en danger en ce début de XXIème siècle, et qu'elle ne vit que par le mouvement et l'utilisation nouvelle de matériaux anciens – et non comme un écrin. Avec entre autres un Miles Hyman et ses formidables illustrations de Conrad et de Dos Passos (3), avec la Libanaise Zeina Abirached et la chronique de sa jeunesse dans un Beyrouth sous les bombes (4), épopée au style rappelant à première vue celui de Marjane Satrapi, mais faisant preuve de plus d'inventivité dans l'utilisation des moyens graphiques. Une belle émotion procurait également la petite exposition consacrée à l'œuvre d'Ambre et David Vandermeulen reprenant le premier Faust de Goethe (5) ainsi que celle sur un mouvement socio-religieux mal connu du bas Moyen Age allemand, les guerres des paysans et les anabaptistes, massacrés au début du XVIième siècle.

Actualité du passé, actualité du présent, cette rencontre estivale autour du roman noir et de ses genres affiliés, la BD et le cinéma, a été marquée par la très grande diversité des thèmes abordés par les auteurs présents, qui confirme le polar comme vecteur des problèmes actuels de notre société : catastrophes écologiques avec le nordiste toulousain Pascal Dessaint (6), cruelle instabilité en Afrique du Sud avec Caryl Ferey (7), difficiles mutations en Afrique Noire et tensions entre tradition et modernité avec le Malien Moussa Konaté (8), réseaux de prostitution avec Alain Wagneur (9), les nouvelles tensions religieuses dans le XVIIIième arrondissement de Paris avec l'Afro-américain Jake Lamar (10), mutations politico-religieuses en Irlande du Nord avec Colin Bateman (11), une histoire de la violence organisée aux Etats-Unis dans le nouveau roman de l'excellent Valerio Evangelisti (12), les relents de la Stasi en Allemagne de l'Est avec l'œuvre de Christian v. Ditfurth (13). C'est dire si le spectre balayé fut large et varié, et si les œuvres des romanciers français ont fait mentir l'adage qui veut que la littérature française de ces dernières années soit caractérisée par son nombrilisme.

Ce fut un grand plaisir intellectuel de constater le niveau élevé des débats, qui est un autre point fort de ce festival. Il faut cependant souligner l'importance de la conduite du débat et il était tout à fait intéressant de voir que le modérateur peut soit étouffer le débat par l'étalage de ce qu'il sait ou permettre par sa finesse à l'auteur de sortir des lieux communs et à un véritable dialogue entre les auteurs de s'installer, de tisser des passerelles entres des mondes différents avec élégance.

Il faut rendre hommage aux organisateurs du festival : Martine-Hélène Gonzalez et ses allées et venues incessantes telle la fourmi de la fable et la présence attentive de Michel Gueorguieff à l'éternel costume anthracite.

A une époque où les mouvements économiques sont de plus en plus imprévisibles et leurs conséquences sur la vie des hommes de plus en en plus pesantes, et où l'orientation générale des systèmes éducatifs européens tourne de manière accrue autour d'un utilitarisme nauséabond, l'importance de festivals comme Frontignan doit être portée bien haut. La créativité, la beauté, l'intelligence sont les valeurs qui nous séparent encore des termites. Et ce n'est pas Jean-Bernard Pouy, aux saillies particulièrement savoureuses, qui me contredira !

Bonne vie au FIRN !

 

(1)  Elfriede Müller, Alexander Ruoff, in : Le polar français, crime et histoire. Traduction : Jean-François Poirier, La fabrique éditions,  2002,  pp.107-108

(2)  www.polar-frontignan.org

(3)  John Dos Passos, Manhattan Transfer, Futuropolis, 1990 / Joseph Conrad, L'agent secret, Futuropolis, 1992.

(4)  Zeina Abirached, [Beyrouth] Catharsis, Cambourakis, 2001.

(5)  Ambre et Vandermeulen, Faust (d'après Goethe), 6 pieds sous terre, 2006.

(6)  Pascal Dessaint, Cruelles natures, Rivages - thriller, 2007.

(7)  Caryl Feyrey, Zulu, Gallimard - série noire, 2007.

(8)  Moussa Konaté, L'empreinte du renard, Fayard - Noir, 2006.

(9)  Alain Wagneur, Hécatombe-les-bains, Acte sud, Babel noir, 2008.

(10) Jake Lamar, Rendez-vous dans le 18ième, Rivages - Thriller, 2007.

(11) Colin Bateman, Turbulences catholiques, Gallimard - série noire, 2007.

(12) Valerio Evangelisti, Nous ne sommes rien, soyons tout, Rivages – Thriller, 2008.

(13)  Christian v. Ditfurth, Frappé d'aveuglement, éditions Jacqueline Chambon, 2007.

Dernire mise jour : ( 16-06-2009 )
 
< Prcdent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com