Europolar is back on line
Home arrow Articles arrow de Gier and Grijpstra orphans
de Gier and Grijpstra orphans PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 October 2008

 de Gier and Grijpstra orphans

Translated by Natalie Costello

 
Janwillem Van de Wetering died this summer. In the turmoil of the information bustle, the news has gone completely unnoticed. Europolar wanted to pay tribute to this author and his own peculiar world, which is today neglected.

 

Janwillem Van de Wetering, Dutch born in 1931, was raised and educated in his home country. After obtaining a diploma in marketing, he continued his studies in English universities. He began to write quite late on and shortly afterwards made his first steps in crime fiction with the detective novel The Papuan of Amsterdam, the first volume of investigations by Detective-Sergeant de Gier and warrant officer Grijpstra, of the local Amsterdam police. We are in 1975 and Van de Wetering, after a varied professional life, representing chemical products in Colombia, selling fish nets in Peru, managing a textile company in Amsterdam, finally comes to a rest in Maine, USA, where he stays until his death on the 4th July 2008.

 

When he made his debut with the detective novel in 1975, Van de Wetering was not a novice in the field of writing as he already had achieved success with The Empty Mirror (1971) where he recounts, with lots of humour and detachment, his eighteen months in a Zen monastery around 1958. Two other volumes (“A Glimpse of Nothingness”, 1975 and “Afterzen”, 1999) still deal with zen and the author’s belief in Buddhism, forming a largely autobiographical trilogy, which is often reprinted in the USA. The quest for zen heavily influenced the life and novels of Van de Wetering and you can regularly perceive references to it in his detective series, even from the first title, The Papuan of Amsterdam (Note that Van de Wetering was also a part of the “reserve forces” for the Amsterdam police from 1965, which provided him with a realistic view of the system which he used to great effect afterwards).

ImageIn this first volume, de Grier and Grijpstra are called to a suicide in an old Haarlemmer Houttuinen building which houses the Hindu Foundation, created by Piet Verboom, who is hanging on the end of a rope. On the spot, the two policemen are welcomed by a small man with dark skin who speaks in perfect Dutch, a Papuan who opted for Dutch nationality after the independence of New Guinea. For a modest rent, Jan Karel Van Meteren was housed in the building and has had free access to the Foundation’s restaurant. The presence of the police, even though he was on just a simple traffic officer, was reassuring. Piet Verboom had been going through a rough patch. His wife took their daughter, left him and he talked of suicide. However, there is a big lump on the side of his head. Did someone help him to commit suicide? De Gier and Grijpstra begin to investigate in their own way, idly and half-heartedly. Back in their office, they put together all sorts of scenarios and check plausible possibilities. They make their reports out to a superior otherwise known as “police superintendent”, a gentle, old man crippled with rheumatism. During their conversations, de Gier and Grijpstra learn that the Foundation, which advocated disinterestedness, was primarily intended for the personal enrichment of Piet Verboom. Engaging in a business known only to himself, he mortgaged the Foundation building and a large sum of money disappeared. Teams of police discover hash on the Foundation’s premises. A banal ingredient in Amsterdam, but one which leads the investigation towards the trafficking of harder drugs, not only more expensive to buy but also more lucrative for those who trade them. From then on, encounters with increasingly odd individuals multiply, under the quietly ironic, interested eye of the guilty party who follows the investigation very closely.

 

To bury oneself in a novel by Van de Wetering is to discover the picturesque and calming city of Amsterdam, its canals and its quirky inhabitants, in a city where almost nothing is a surprise and anything is allowed. The local police are no exception to this rule since the two investigators have a drum kit in their office and their reflexions are often punctuated by skilled duos on the flute and drums. The flute rarely leaves the pockets of de Gier whilst Grijsptra easily finds a makeshift drum kit, no matter where they are and who they are with. This series of 14 novels possesses a certain charm sustained by the gentleness of these two investigators who are enemies of violence and respect who dominates the relations in police positions. Let’s hope that this world is not totally over.

 

Van de Wetering, Dutch author of non-conformist police procedurals.

Expanding on the information contained in the preceding article, below we highlight a few additional elements which clarify the career of this atypical writer.

He wrote an interesting biography devoted to that of another Batavian author who had also acquired an international reputation through the adventures of his Judge Ti, published in 1987 as Robert van Gulik: His Life, His Work.

Besides children’s books, Van de Wetering also produced a series of stories devoted to a Japanese police inspector, Saito.

Early in his career, Van de Wetering wrote and published in Dutch, then gradually he published directly into English from the translated Dutch text.

In France, the novels of Van de Wetering are published by “Rivages”.
Last Updated ( Friday, 28 November 2008 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Articles/ essais arrow de Gier et Grijpstra orphelins
de Gier et Grijpstra orphelins Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
08-10-2008

de Gier et Grijpstra orphelins

Janwillem Van de Wetering est mort cet été. Dans la tourmente des informations qui se bousculent, la nouvelle est passée complètement inaperçue. Europolar a voulu rendre hommage à cet auteur aujourd'hui délaissé et à son univers si singulier.

 

 

Janwillem Van de Wetering, Hollandais né en 1931, fut élevé et éduqué dans son pays d’origine; après l’obtention d’un diplôme commercial il fit ses études supérieures dans des universités anglaises. ImageIl commence à écrire assez tardivement et effectue peu après ses premiers pas dans le roman policier avec Le Papou d'Amsterdam, premier volume des enquêtes du sergent-détective de Gier et de l'adjudant-détective Grijpstra, de la police municipale d'Amsterdam. Nous sommes en 1975 et Van de Wetering, après une vie professionnelle variée, représentant de produits chimiques en Colombie, vendeur de filets de pêche au Pérou, dirigeant d'une entreprise de textile à Amsterdam, vient de poser ses valises dans le Maine (USA). Il y restera jusqu'à sa mort, le 4 juillet 2008.

 

Si en 1975 il débute dans le roman policier, Van de Wetering n'est plus un novice en matière d'écriture et il a déjà connu le succès avec Le Miroir vide (1971) où il raconte, avec beaucoup d'humour et de recul, ses dix-huit mois dans un monastère zen autour de 1958. Deux autres volumes (« A Glimpse of Nothingness », 1975 et « Afterzen », 1999) traiteront toujours du zen et de la croyance de l’auteur dans le  bouddhisme, formant une trilogie largement autobiographique et souvent rééditée aux USA. La quête zen imprègne la vie et les romans de Van de Wetering, et on la retrouve régulièrement dans sa série policière évoquée, ceci dès le premier titre, Le Papou d'Amsterdam (A noter que Van de Wetering fit aussi partie des « forces de réserve » de la police d’Amsterdam à partir de 1965, ce qui lui a fourni une vue réaliste sur le système qu’il a efficacement utilisée par la suite).

Dans ce premier volume, de Gier et Grijpstra sont appelés pour un suicide dans une vieille bâtisse d'Haarlemmer Houttuinen qui abrite la Fondation Hindue, une création de Piet Verboom, qui se balance au bout d'une corde. Sur place, les deux policiers sont accueillis par un petit homme à la peau foncée qui parle un hollandais impeccable, un Papou qui a opté pour la nationalité hollandaise à l'indépendance de la Nouvelle-Guinée. Pour un loyer modeste, Jan Karel Van Meteren était hébergé dans le bâtiment et avait accès gratuitement au restaurant de la Fondation. La présence de ce policier, fût-il simple agent de la circulation, dans les murs rassurait. Piet Verboom traversait une mauvaise passe. Son épouse venait de le quitter en emmenant leur fille et il parlait de suicide. Cependant, il y a cette grosse bosse sur le côté de sa tête. L'a-t-on aidé à se donner la mort ?...  de Gier et Grijpstra commencent à enquêter, à leur façon, mollement, l'air de rien. De retour dans leur bureau, ils échafaudent toutes sortes de scénarios et vérifient les hypothèses les plausibles. Ils font leurs rapports à un supérieur hiérarchique qu'on appelle pas autrement que "le commissaire", un vieil homme très doux et perclus de rhumatismes. Au fil de leurs conversations, de Gier et Grijpstra comprennent que la Fondation, qui prônait le désintéressement, était surtout destinée à l'enrichissement personnel de Piet Verboom. Se lançant dans une entreprise connue de lui seul, il venait d'hypothéquer le bâtiment de la Fondation et une grosse somme d'argent a disparu. Les équipes de la police découvrent du hasch dans les locaux de la Fondation. Ingrédient banal à Amsterdam mais qui oriente leur enquête vers le trafic de drogue plus dures, plus coûteuses à l'achat mais plus lucratives aussi pour celui qui en fait commerce. Dès lors les rencontres avec des individus plus étranges les uns que les autres se multiplient, sous l'oeil goguenard et intéressé du coupable qui suit l'enquête de très près !

 

Se plonger dans un roman de Van de Wetering, c'est découvrir le pittoresque apaisant d'Amsterdam et de ses canaux et l'originalité de ses habitants, dans une ville où plus rien n'étonne et où tout semble permis. La police municipale n'échappe pas à cette règle puisque les deux enquêteurs ont une batterie dans leur bureau et leurs réflexions sont souvent ponctuées de savants duos pour flûte et batterie. La flûte quitte rarement les poches de de Gier tandis que Grijsptra trouve facilement de quoi faire office de batterie, quelque soit l'endroit où ils se trouvent et les gens qui les entourent. Cette série de 14 romans possède un charme fou, nourri de la douceur de ces deux enquêteurs ennemis de la violence et du respect qui domine les relations dans le poste de police. En espérant que ce monde-là ne soit pas totalement révolu...

 

 

Van de Wetering, auteur hollandais de procedurals non conformistes

Au-delà des renseignements repris dans l’article qui précède, on soulignera quelques éléments supplémentaires qui éclairent la carrière de cet écrivain atypique.

Il écrivit une intéressante biographie consacrée à cet autre auteur batave ayant acquis, lui aussi,  une réputation internationale grâce aux aventures de son Juge Ti, bio publiée en 1987 : « Robert van Gulik : His Life, His Work ».

A côté d’ouvrages pour la jeunesse, Van de Wettering produisit également une série de récits consacrés à l’inspecteur de police japonais Saito.

Au tout début de sa carrière, Van de Wetering écrivait et publiait en néerlandais, puis progressivement il publia directement  en anglais à partir du texte néerlandais traduit. 

En France, les romans de Van de Wetering sont publiés chez Rivages.  EB.

 

Dernire mise jour : ( 28-11-2008 )
 
< Prcdent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com