Europolar is back on line
Home arrow Articles arrow MAYO NEGRO /" Black May" 2009
MAYO NEGRO /" Black May" 2009 PDF Print
Saturday, 09 May 2009

MAYO NEGRO 2009


Translated into English by Helen Oclee-Brown

MAYO NEGRO 2009Criminal literature is an omnipresent force throughout the world. It is the standard-bearer of the crime genre, urban development and the merciless side of the mystery novel. This is a narrative genre known by many names: crime fiction, criminal literature, giallo, polar literature, the detective story, the crook story, mystery, thriller, suspense and many more, which explores violence to paint a picture of our society with all the subtlety of a steamroller. It is impossible to explain the history of the last century without investigating each and every expression of crime. I quote from memory the words of Monsieur Verdoux written by Chaplin/Welles inspired by the Dostoevsky of Crime and Punishment: “One murder makes a villain...Millions a hero.”

The crime genre, in literature and film, is also the preferred option of those who support critical realism, who are convinced that the reality of society is much tougher than we realise; that the truth slips through our fingers like water from a drain; and, that, in the end, when it comes to literature, it is always a case of sculpting mud into a magnificent, impressive and convincing story that, in its raw form, shows us the heart and the courage of the authors, but also reveals their daemons.
The detective crime genre has succeeded in becoming part of our lives. It now offers a robust bibliography through characters created by storytellers faithful to criminal literature. From hard-boiled detective fiction, brought to life by “native” characters like Pepe Carvalho, Toni Romano or the frontier character “Wilson” (beings immortalised by Vázquez Montalbán, Juan Madrid and David C. Hall respectively), to the portrait of the criminal underworld in Andreu Martín’s characters. From the psychopaths from the caustic Carlos Pérez Merinero, to Butxana’s humour created by Ferran Torrent. In addition to the above, we must not forget the real detectives: Méndez, the humanist and terse inspector from Francisco González Ledesma; Petra Delicado from Alicia Giménez Bartlett; Bevilacqua from Lorenzo Silva; and, the security guards Pulido and Galeote, from the author of these lines. They are small-time crooks that float around the police procedural genre, almost life-like as they move through the real world, entrenched in large-scale organised crime from suspicion-free offices.
The rationale behind the criminal genre, its richness and vitality, owes much to its vision of the world, its technical narrative and its way of telling impressive stories on the sizzling tarmac of our streets, amongst the huge neon signs and beggars in rags. This book is about these veteran authors, whilst a new generation has opened the door in full post-modernity and has written their most recent works on the very limits of the genre. Rafael Reig, Juan Aparicio Belmonte, Juan Ramón Biedma and Carles Quílez, amongst others, are perhaps the most persistent or the “black list” , who our friends Àlex Martín Escribà y Javier Sánchez Zapatero would say, have grown to more than twenty new authors who have chosen criminal literature.
Literary energy makes this series standout year after year. Mayo Negro, our annual event discussing criminal film and literature, began in 2004, born out of a workshop course on Crime Fiction at the University of Alicante given by me. It was a pioneering experience that brought the genre to the lecture rooms. The workshop gave an insight into the tools and methods of criminal literature, intrigue and the thriller in all its forms, from the genre brought into being by Edgar Allan Poe to its reinvented form styled by Dashiell Hammet and his followers.
Since 2001, the celebrated producers of this extraordinary genre have come to the University of Alicante. Raúl Argemí, Justo Vasco, Juan Madrid, Andreu Martín, David C. Hall and Fernando Marías have given students an insight into the methods of their work, their vision for crime fiction and what drives them to write in this genre. Along with these leading lights, experts and scholars such as George Tyras also attended. This is an absolute privilege and a true pleasure that comes around every year.
In inevitable fashion, the next step was to open the door to a wider audience. Without putting the workshop experts to one side, a literary event was organised and it was decided to open this up to the cinematic form. This is how Mayo Negro was born, under the auspices of the Culture Department and the University of Alicante. However, the book also summarises the previous events’ programmes.
In the last week of May, many major figures have passed by the University of Alicante: the novelists Paco Ignacio Taibo II, Lorenzo Silva, Alicia Giménez Bartlett, Francisco González Ledesma, Andreu Martín, David C. Hall and Fernando Marías; the writers Luis Valera, Daniel Arenas and Joaquim Espinós; the filmmakers Pedro Costa y Mariano Barroso; the comic book writers Raule and Roger Ibáñez; the short film maker and obscure writer like few others Claudio Cerdán, and a group of experts that have heightened our awareness of the subject, including Àlex Martín Escribà, John D. Sanderson, David G. Panadero and Francisco J. Ortiz, amongst others.
Actas de Mayo Negro. 13 miradas al género criminal (the Acts of Mayo Negro: 13 perspectives on the criminal genre) is a collection of overviews, summaries and in-depth articles on the criminal genre written by leading writers and specialists, who are both our guides and accomplices in these encounters. This book owes much to many people, none more so than to the authors of the texts, selfless and brotherly as ever, ready as always to pull out all the stops for this mysterious brotherhood. They have written in complete freedom and they are solely responsible for the content of their texts. No mercy.
As usual, the contributions from Francisco J. Ortiz and David G. Panadero go beyond their own erudite writing and combine in practice to form, together with the author of this piece, the driving force behind Mayo Negro. Our editor, José Antonio López Vizcaíno, director of the ECU, has once more shown his confidence in the projects that I put on his desk. Without him, this work would have been impossible in these current times of economic hardship. The designer Vicente Cruz, from the Brand and Marketing Office at Alicante University, is responsible for the cover of the book and the posters that announce Mayo Negro’s programme every year. His creativity has defined our style. The welcoming venue of Alicante, with its director Catalina Iliescu, and the Culture Department, with its director Carles Cortés, is sponsoring this new event, in which the Centre of Studies City of Light will participate in 2009 with its director Luis Cruz at the helm. This collaboration has hailed the beginning of a new era in which cinema and audiovisual work will have a major presence in our times.
As a celebration of this the fifth edition of Mayo Negro, readers hold in their hands a book on the criminal genre that has been written, by night and with intent, so that they can get to grips with this great narrative force that only the truly stupid would considerer a lesser art. Indeed, Raymond Chandler already advocated this view when in 1949, after having asked to be shown anyone who could not bear crime fiction, he concluded “Show me a man or woman who cannot stand mysteries and I will show you a fool. A clever fool - perhaps - but a fool just the same”.

 


Cartel_programa MayoNegro2009
Last Updated ( Saturday, 13 June 2009 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Articles/ essais arrow MAYO NEGRO Mai Noir 2009
MAYO NEGRO Mai Noir 2009 Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
09-05-2009

MAYO NEGRO Mai Noir 2009


Traduit de l’espagnol par JM Joubert.


MAYO NEGRO 2009La littérature  criminelle est omniprésente dans le monde. C'est le cheval de  bataille du genre noir, évolution urbaine et  implacable du roman à énigme. Un genre narratif qui porte de nombreux noms, policier, criminelgiallo (1)  polar, detective story, crook story  (2), mystère, thriller, suspense   qui se complait dans la violence  pour tracer le portrait de  notre société  avec la délicatesse d'un rouleau compresseur. Il est donc impossible d'expliquer l'histoire du siècle dernier sans avoir recours à l'expression du crime  sous toutes ses facettes  et dans toutes ses variantes. " Si je tue un homme je suis  un assassin, mais celui qui en tue  un million est un héros" je cite de mémoire  les paroles d'un Monsieur Verdoux écrites  par le Charlie Chaplin/Welles resplendissants  du Dostoievski  de crime et chatiment.

Le  genre  noir, en littérature comme au cinéma est également le choix de ceux qui parient pour le réalisme critique, persuadés que la réalité sociale est beaucoup plus dure que ce que nous savons d'elle , que la vérité nous file entre les doigts comme l'eau des égouts et que, à la fin, par l'écriture, il reste toujours une boue convertie en narrations  superbes  impressionnantes et convaincantes, mais aussi ses fantômes. Qui nous montrent dans leur essence, le coeur et le courage  de ses auteurs.
 Le genre noir policier a réussi à s'installer parmi nous. Il offre déjà une bibliographie consistante à travers des personnages  créés  par des auteurs fidèles au  genre du roman criminel. Depuis  le détective hard boiled  ( "dur à cuire" )  incarné par des "indigènes" comme Pepe Carvalho, Toni Romano ou le frontalier  Wilson (personnages consacrés par Vázquez Montalbán, Juan Madrid y David C. Hall respectivement), jusqu'au portrait des bas-fonds   présent chez les criminels   de Andreu Martín, depuis les psychopathes du corrosif  Carlos Pérez Merinero jusqu'à l'humour de Butxana créé par Ferran Torrent.  Tout cela sans oublier les policiers véridiques : Mendez , l'inspecteur laconique  et humaniste de Francisco González Ledesma; Petra Delicado, de Alicia Giménez Bartlett; Bevilacqua de Lorenzo Silva; les inspecteurs de la brigada antigang Pulido y Galeote,  de l'auteur de ces lignes .  ce sont des charognards qui gravitent autour de la police procédurière, vraisemblables tant qu'ils se meuvent dans le monde réel, pris dans les filets du grand  crime organisé  depuis d'insoupçonnables bureaux

La  raison d'être du genre noir , sa fortune et sa vitalité  est due à sa vision du monde, à sa technique narrative , à sa manière de raconter des histoires   imprimées sur l'asphalte surchauffé  de nos  rues   parmi les grandes enseignes au néon et les mendiants en haillons. Ce libre parle de ces auteurs chevronnés alors qu'une  nouvelle génération a poussé la porte  en pleine post modernité et a inscrit ses dernière oeuvres dans les limites du genre. Rafael Reig, Juan Aparicio Belmonte, Juan Ramón Biedma, Carles Quílez...  sont peut-être ceux qui résistent le mieux mais la liste noire – comme diraient nos amis Àlex Martín Escribà y Javier Sánchez Zapatero–  s'allonge jusqu'à vingt auteurs nouveaux qui choisissent la littérature criminelle.

C'est  cette énergie littéraire qui nous pousse à agir, année après année, Mai noir , notre rencontré annuelle  de cinéma de roman criminel est né en 2004  à partir de l'atelier d'écriture de roman Noir de l'université d'Alicante, que j'ai créé. Il s'agit d'une expérience  pionnière qui a apporté dans les amphithéâtres la connaissance des clés et des ressorts du Roman Noir, d'intrigue, du thriller dans toutes ses variantes à partir du genre fondé par Edgar Allan Poe  et réinventé par  Dashiell Hammett  et ses successeurs.

 Depuis 2001, des pratiquants remarquables de ce genre  littéraire extraordinaire  sont passés par l'université  d'Alicante. Raúl Argemí, Justo Vasco, Juan Madrid, Andreu Martín, David C. Hall y Fernando Marías  ont expliqué aux élèves leurs méthodes de travail, leur  vision du roman criminel, les raisons  qui le ont poussé à écrire des oeuvres de fiction dans ce registre.
Conjointement, sont intervenus des experts et des spécialistes  comme Georges Tyras. Un vrai privilège et un réel plaisir qui se sont répétés année après année.

Inévitablement, l'étape suivante consista à faciliter l'accès d'un public  plus large. Sans négliger le contact direct avec  ceux des ateliers il a été décidé d'ouvrir la rencontre littéraire et de l'élargir au genre cinématographique; Ainsi est né Mai Noir sous les auspices du  Secrétariat  de la Culture  et l'Université   d'Alicante.   Ce libre en rend également compte
  

Au cours de la dernière semaine de mai, ont défilé à l'université d'Alicante, les romanciers Paco Ignacio Taibo II, Lorenzo Silva, Alicia Giménez Bartlett, Francisco González Ledesma, Andreu Martín, David C. Hall y Fernando Marías;  les écrivains Luis Valera, Daniel Arenas y Joaquim Espinós, les cinéastes Pedro Costa y Mariano Barroso; les auteurs de comics Raule y Roger Ibáñez le romancier auteur de courts-métrages , obscur comme il y en a peu, Claudio Cerdán; et  un groupe d'experts  qui ont élevé notre niveau de  connaissance en la matière. Àlex Martín Escribà, John D. Sanderson, David G. Panadero, Francisco J. Ortiz...

 

Actes de mai noir13  regards sur le genre criminel recueille les réflexions en perspectives  de façon panoramique et les chroniques autour du genre  criminel écrites par des auteurs remarquables et des spécialistes , initiateurs et complices de nos rencontres;  ce livre est redevable à beaucoup de gens , en  premier lieu aux auteurs des textes , amicaux et désintéressés  comme d'habitude, disposés à mettre le paquet  pour cette obscure confrérie. Ils ont écrit en totale liberté  et sont les seuls responsables du contenu  de leur texte. Sans appel.


Comme  d'habitude  les apports de Francisco J. Ortiz et David G. Panadero  vont  au-delà  de l'écriture érudite  au sens strict   et constituent dans la pratique, avec l'auteur de ces lignes, le trio moteur   de Mai Noir. Notre éditeur , José Antonio López Vizcaíno, gérant de ECU  a montré une fois de plus sa confiance dans les projets que je mets sur la table . Sans lui, ce travail aurait été impossible dans les temps de récession que nous vivons.  Le dessinateur Vicente Cruz,  de l'agence Image  et Communication Graphique  de l'Université d'Alicante. est responsable de la couverture du livre   et des affiches qui annoncent  chaque année le programme de Mai Noir. Par  son style, il a marqué notre créativité. L'accueillante   cite de Alicante avec sa directrice Catalina Iliescu,  et le secrétariat à la Culture  avec son directeur Carles Cortés, parrainent   de nouveau ce rendez-vous  auquel participe en 2009, le Centre d'Etudes Ville de Lumière  avec en première ligne son directeur Luis Cruz. Grâce à sa collaboration, s'ouvre une nouvelle étape au cours de laquelle le cinéma et la création audiovisuelle   seront plus présents au cours de ces journées.

 Pour célébrer  cette cinquième édition de Mai Noir, le lecteur  a en main  un livre sur le genre criminel  écrit, de façon préméditée et pour aggraver son cas, pour faire connaître  un genre narratif majeur que seul la bêtise peut considérer  comme mineur. Raymond Chandler l'avait  déjà  annoncé  lorsqu'en 1949, après avoir demandé qu'on  lui présente une personne incapable de supporter le roman policier, conclut : "' Il s'agit probablement  d'un crétin , un crétin intelligent – c'est possible- mais de toutes façons un crétin. "

Cartel_programa MayoNegro2009

Dernire mise jour : ( 13-06-2009 )
 
< Prcdent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com