Europolar is back on line
Home arrow Interviews arrow Interview with Michel Gueorguieff
Interview with Michel Gueorguieff PDF Print
Thursday, 04 June 2009

F.I.R.N 2009 - interview with Michel Gueorguieff

translated by Rosine Lang

The 12th edition of the FIRN will take place in Frontignan (France) from June 22nd to 28th. The Festival of Noir Fiction has year after year become one of the inescapable Must of the crime fiction world. Amateurs and pros together enjoy gathering there to take advantage of the round tables and of the meetings with writers. An occasion for crime fiction fans to discuss with stars like Elmore Leonard, Dennis Lehane or John Harvey, but also to discover less famous but no less talented authors. Michel Gueorguieff, creator of the festival presents us with the 2009 theme and main guests. 

Image Q: As every year, the Festival will revolve around a common theme, which for 2009 is « Borders ». What made you choose this theme?
The theme of Borders seems to me central to the current problems of modern society and is therefore a favored theme in today’s noir fiction. And so not only in the geographical meaning of the word allowing writers to work on the questions of exile, immigration and foreignness; we are including all kinds of borders: social, cultural, ethnic, legal and maybe even literary.  As a matter of fact, addressing the fragile line separating order and disorder, law and illegality, madness and reason or good and evil, means that you cover the whole subject area of noir fiction.

Q: Each edition allows you to innovate and try to find new activities. What’s new this year?
Not much new in our global philosophy which aims at gathering authors from many different surroundings around a significant theme and confront famed writers with unknown novelists. On the other hand, we go on opening the Festival to ever more numerous audiences. While the event itself is still located in Frontignan, many events will take place in Sète, Balaruc and some other towns around the Bassin de Thau, as well as in Montpellier. Besides, this year we are introducing a move to involve the prisoners of the Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone prison, by offering them the books of some of our invited authors.  After reading them, they will award the "Derrière les Murs" (Behind the walls) prize to two authors - one for a novel and one for a comic book. The winner will meet the prisoners on June, 25th.

affiche par EdQ: Every year, the public is happy to be able to meet many writers coming from all walks of life, and sometimes rather unknown in France. How do you select your authors?
The two main conditions are first of all the quality of their books and next the fact that their work would match the chosen theme. Every year, we also have opportunities and favourites. This year the opportunity is featuring Tim Willocks whom I have been chasing for the last five years. A favourite this, amongst others, is Anne Secret whom I didn’t know a few months ago, and whose last book I truly loved. Generally speaking, we take into account the coherence required for each debate.

Q: Among others, you have this year invited Tim Willocks, why this writer?
Willocks is an amazing author offering an exceptional depth, virtuosity and « noir » quality. I discovered him a few years ago through "Bad City Blues" and "Bloodstained Kings". Since then I have been trying to have him come to Frontignan. It was absolutely impossible to contact him. This year, thanks to the publication of "La Religion", a dense, baroque and very brilliant work, we finally succeeded in getting into contact with him. He has enthusiastically accepted our invitation and that made us very happy. He is well-read, crazy and subtle, all at the same time. The few French readers who have read his books have usually become fans. Indeed, today he is a real cult author (   refer to the Europolar’s article on Tim Willocks )

Q: As far as the European authors are concerned, you have invited José Ovejero, a Spanish author whose book "Parallel Lives", a novel taking place in Brussels, has been published in French with Moisson Rouge. Is it a book you wish to stand up for...
Of course, I stand up for "Parallel Lives" by José Ovejero, a Spanish author living in Brussels. It is a very dark, very strong novel, fully in line with the theme of Borders such as I see it.  

Q: Another invited writer is British, Tom Rob Smith, with his thriller "Child 44" published with Belfond in February. Do you think thriller represents an unavoidable aspect of the crime fiction genre?
Thriller counts for an important part of today’s crime fiction, especially with the general public. Of course, in all fashion movements there is a good side and a not so good one. But Tom Rob Smith’s first novel "Child 44" belongs to the good ones.  What’s interesting in this book is the description of how scaring a machine the Soviet system was. The novel is not only a thriller, but also a book on how man confronts totalitarianism.  
Q: The FIRN also welcomes many American writers. This year’s are Don Winslow and Thomas H. Cook. How do they come in line with your chosen theme?
First of all, both Thomas Cook and Don Winslow are, in my opinion, major writers. Their whole work is indeed about a confrontation between good and evil, folly and reason, and a very talented one. They very rarely come to France - Winslow never has before, as far as I know. The fact that they have accepted our invitation is an honour for our Festival.

Q: I know that you have put a lot of care into your program and that no invitation is done at random, but that they are all favorites with you. I will therefore not ask you to point out for us one writer in particular, but I would still like you to say a few words about the Iranian writer Naïri Nahapetian.
Naïri Nahapetian’s first novel "Who killed Ayatollah Kanuni?" is the first Iranian crime book. Not only has it, for the French, some kind of exotic charm, it also describes a society where values may surprise or even revolt us. This young Iranian woman left her country after the Islamic Revolution and now lives in France, where she is a journalist. If there is someone who can speak about cultural border, it is she. 


Full program: http://www.polar-frontignan.org

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 30 June 2009 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Entretiens arrow FIRN - Michel Gueorguieff
FIRN - Michel Gueorguieff Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
04-06-2009

F.I.R.N 2009 - interview Michel Gueorguief


Du 22 au 28 juin se déroulera la douzième édition du FIRN à Frontignan. Le Festival International du Roman Noir est devenu au fil des années un des évènements incontournables de la planète polar. Les amateurs et les professionnels aiment à se retrouver sur la place pour profiter des tables rondes et des rencontres avec les écrivains. Une chance pour les fans de polars de  discuter avec des vedettes comme Elmore Leonard, Dennis Lehane, John Harvey mais aussi de découvrir des auteurs moins connus mais tout aussi talentueux. Michel Gueorguieff , le créateur de ce festival nous présente le thème 2009 et ses principaux invités.

ImageComme chaque année, ce festival se décline selon un thème: en 2009, ce sera "Les frontières". Comment avez vous décidé de ce thème?

Le thème de la frontière m'apparaît comme central par rapport  aux problèmes actuels de la société, et par voix de conséquence comme privilégié par le roman noir d'aujourd'hui. Il ne s'agit pas seulement d'aborder la Frontière sous l'aspect géographique qui permet de traiter les questions de l'exil, de  l'immigration et de l'extranéité. Il s'agit de toutes les frontières : sociales, culturelles, éthiques, légales et pourquoi pas littéraires. En fait, aborder les fragiles limites qui séparent l'ordre et le désordre, la loi et l'illégalité, la folie et le raison, le bien et  le mal, c'est accaparer tout le champ du roman noir.

Chaque année est l'occasion d'innover et de découvrir de nouvelles animations. Quelles seront les nouveautés?

Peu de nouveautés dans notre philosophie générale qui tend à  rassembler autour d'un thème fort, des auteurs venus d'horizons différents, de confronter des écrivains de grande notoriété avec  des romanciers méconnus. En revanche nous continuons à ouvrir le Festival à des publics plus nombreux. Si le lieu de la manifestation reste à Frontignan de nombreuses actions ont lieu à Sète, Balaruc et d'autres cités autour du Bassin de Thau ainsi qu'à Montpellier. Par ailleurs nous initions cette année une action vers les détenus de la Maison d'arrêt de Villeneuve lès Maguelone à qui nous avons 
 fait distribuer des romans d'auteurs invités. Après les avoir lu, ils attribueront le prix "Derrière les Murs" à deux  auteurs un en Roman et un en BD, qui viendront les rencontrer le 25 juin.

affiche par EdEt chaque année, le public a l'heureuse surprise de rencontrer de nombreux écrivains, venant de tous horizons, parfois peu connus dans l'hexagone. Comment faites vous votre sélection?

Les deux premières conditions c'est tout d'abord la qualité des ouvrages et l'adéquation des œuvres au thème proposé. Il y a aussi chaque année des opportunités et des coups de cœur. Opportunité de faire venir Tim Willocks que je piste depuis cinq ans. Coup de cœur avec, entre autre, Anne Secret que je ne connaissais pas il y a quelques mois et dont le dernier livre m'a enthousiasmé. D'une manière générale nous tenons compte aussi de la cohérence que doit revêtir chaque débat.

Entre autre, cette année, vous avez invité Tim Willocks, pourquoi cet écrivain?

Willocks est un auteur extraordinaire, d'une profondeur, d'une virtuosité et d'une noirceur exceptionnelle. Je l'avais découvert  il y  a quelques années avec "Bad City Blues" et " Les Rois Écarlates". Et n'ai eu de cesse d'essayer de le faire venir. Impossible d'avoir le moindre contact. Cette année, avec la publication de  "La Religion", ouvrage touffu, baroque et très brillant, nous avons enfin pu entrer en contact avec lui. Il a accepté avec enthousiasme notre invitation ce qui nous comble de joie. C'est un auteur à la fois cultivé, déjanté et subtil. Ceux qui en France encore peu nombreux l'ont déjà lu, en sont en général des inconditionnels. Bref un véritable auteur culte. (voir l'article qu'Europolar consacre à Tim Willocks )


Pour les invités européens, on retrouve José Ovejero, un auteur espagnol dont un livre a été traduit chez Moisson Rouge, "Des vies parallèles", roman dont l'action se situe à Bruxelles. C'est un roman que vous avez envie de défendre…

Bien sûr que je défend "Des Vies Parallèles" de José Ovejero un auteur espagnol qui vit à Bruxelles, c'est un roman très noir, très fort, qui s'inscrit absolument dans la thématique de la Frontière telle que je la ressens.

Autre invité, un anglais, Tom Rob Smith, dont " Enfant 44" est sorti en février chez Belfond, un thriller. Ce genre est une facette incontournable du polar selon vous?

Le thriller représente une part très importante de la littérature policière actuelle surtout auprès du grand public. Bien entendu comme dans tout phénomène de mode, il y a du bon et du moins bon. Mais "Enfant 44 " de Tom Rob Smith dont c'est le premier roman fait partie du bon. Ce qui séduit dans ce livre c'est la description de l'effrayante machine qu'était le système soviétique. Ce n'est pas seulement un thriller c'est un roman sur la résistance de l'homme face au totalitarisme

Le FIRN fait aussi la part belle aux écrivains américains. Cette année Don Winslow et Thomas H. Cook. Comment s'inscrivent' ils dans le thème retenu?

D'abord Thomas Cook et Don Winslow sont à mes yeux deux écrivains majeurs. Toute leur œuvre confronte justement le bien et le mal, la folie et la raison, avec talent. On les voit très peu en France. Winslow jamais à ma connaissance. Le fait qu'ils aient accepté notre invitation honore évidement notre Festival.

Je sais que vous avez apporté un soin extrême à votre programmation et que chaque invitation n'est jamais le fruit du hasard mais toujours un coup de cœur de votre part. Je ne vous demanderais donc pas de choisir parmi vos auteurs et de nous en conseiller un mais j'aimerais que vous nous disiez quelques mots sur l'auteure iranienne Naïri Nahapetian.

Le premier roman de Naîri Nahapetian "Qui a tué l'Ayatollah Kanuni ?" est le premier polar iranien. Il n'a pas seulement pour nous, lecteur français, un charme exotique. Il décrit une société où les valeurs peuvent nous surprendre ou nous révolter. Cette jeune iranienne a quitté son pays après la Révolution Islamique et vit aujourd'hui en France où elle est journaliste. Si il y avait quelqu'un de bien placé pour parler de la Frontière culturelle c'était bien elle.
 


Programme complet : http://www.polar-frontignan.org
Dernire mise jour : ( 30-06-2009 )
 
< Prcdent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com