Europolar is back on line
Home arrow Reviews arrow A Boat-full of Rice
A Boat-full of Rice PDF Print
Tuesday, 04 August 2009

A Boat-full of Rice by Alicia Gimenez Bartlett

Rivages/Noir. 10.50 euros)


Translated by Jamie Andrews

Un bateau plein de rizSuch a mysterious title for this latest case (the sixth) to be investigated by Inspector Petra Delicado, who works for Barcelona’s criminal squad. She’s still working with her inseparable deputy, Firmin Garzon, and together they form an unusual pair: ‘Having Garzon by my side was like having a husband, a father, a grand-father, but also a young child. Dealing with that kind of relative was like walking on egg-shells.’

 One morning, the body of a homeless man, who seems to have been beaten to death, is discovered in a park. Suspicion falls at once on the gangs of skin-heads who hang around the area, an outcome that suits everyone: the press, the residents, and the irascible Commissioner Corona. Everyone, that is, except Petra, who is moved by the indifference shown to such a lonely, miserable end, and senses something bigger behind it. The discovery of a second body only confirms this suspicion…and her pig-headedness.

For Petra is a formidably lucid woman, which she combines with an exceptionally sensitive nature. After two failed marriages, she lives alone, and is well-suited to solitude: ‘Love is synonymous with living together, and consists of sharing the fridge and bad moods.’ Yet her small world, the microcosm of the police station, is enriched by the presence of the beautiful Yolanda, a charming and refined young ‘cop-ette’. And then there’s Ricard, the slightly crazy young psychologist to whom she can’t fail to respond. For Petra will admit that men are ‘the most fascinating creatures in the world, after the hummingbird.’ To fall or not to fall in love?  She falls, at the same time trying to maintain her distance. ‘The day that I’m jealous of you, Ricard, I’d prefer to be skinned alive than admit it.’ Yet their love is so fine, and so strong. We get some torrid erotic scenes, and the ensuing bliss: ‘this mischievous, fantastic game we call screwing- the ultimate fuck you to melancholy and death.’

Comical scenes follow one another without impinging on the novel’s rhythm, such as a dinner with the gay son of Firmin, which is a joy. How must it be for a Spanish father - rather macho, and to top it all a cop - whose son wears an ear-ring and kisses a man full on the mouth! Naturally, these scenes conjure up Woody Allen, as does an observation that Petra makes to herself after having messed up: ‘So there we are, I had made all the possible cock-ups you could imagine: insulting a poor old crazy type because of my bad mood; losing my head over a bloke I hardly know; and not helping a colleague who’s bogged down with personal problems. Perfect. What’s left to do? Kick a dog, slap an old lady, spit on a baby?’
Lucid- now and forever; even when it comes to violence. ‘I liked it, beating him up,’ she admits, after a somewhat rough interrogation of a suspect.

A comedy of manners, and a bitter social critique. With A Boat-full of Rice, Alicia Gimenez Bartlett  - through her character Petra Delicado -  delivers a brutally clear-sighted vision of life around her, as well as her best novel.

Last Updated ( Monday, 18 January 2010 )
 
< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com

Europolar is back on line
Accueil arrow Critiques arrow Un bateau plein de riz
Un bateau plein de riz Convertir en PDF Version imprimable
04-08-2009

Un bateau plein de riz de Alicia Gimenez Bartlett

Rivages/Noir. 10,50 €


Un bateau plein de rizQuel titre mystérieux pour cette nouvelle affaire (la sixième) de notre inspectrice, attachée à la brigade  criminelle de Barcelone, Petra Delicado ! Elle fait toujours équipe avec Firmin Garzon, son inséparable adjoint et leurs relations sont hors du commun : « Avoir Garzon à mes côtés, c’était comme avoir un mari, un père, un grand-père, mais également un enfant en bas âge. ll fallait marcher sur des œufs pour traiter avec ce genre de parent. »

Un matin, on trouve le corps d’un S.D.F. dans un parc. Il semble avoir été battu à mort. Les bandes de skins qui traînent dans les parages sont immédiatement soupçonnées. Ce qui arrange bien tout le monde : la presse, les citoyens et l’irascible commissaire Corona. Mais pas notre chère Petra. Elle est émue par cette fin solitaire, cette misère et l’indifférence qui l’entoure. Elle subodore une affaire bien plus ample. La découverte d’un deuxième cadavre ne fait que la conforter dans son intuition. Et dans son caractère de cochon.
Car Petra est une femme d’une lucidité redoutable et sa sensibilité est très « chatouilleuse ». Elle vit seule après deux mariages sabordés, une solitude qui lui convient. « L’amour est synonyme de vie en couple et consiste à partager frigo et mauvaise humeur ». Mais son petit monde, le microcosme du commissariat,   s’enrichit avec la jolie Yolanda, jeune « fliquette » pleine de charme et subtile. Et il y a aussi Ricard, un jeune psychologue un peu foutraque qui ne la laisse pas insensible. Elle s’avoue trouver  que les hommes sont « les êtres vivants les plus fascinants au monde, après le colibri ». Désir d’être et de n’être pas amoureuse ? Elle plonge, tout en essayant de garder son quant-à-soi. « Le jour où je serai jalouse de toi, Ricard, ce jour-là je préférerai qu’on m ‘écorche vive plutôt que de l’avouer. » Mais l’amour est si bon et si fort avec Ricard. On a droit à des scènes érotiques torrides et le bonheur qui suit : « ce jeu espiègle et fantastique qu’on appelle baiser, un bras d’honneur à la mélancolie et à la mort. »
Les scènes cocasses se succèdent sans altérer la dynamique du roman. Le dîner avec le fils de Firmin, homosexuel, qui est un enchantement. Comment imaginer pour un père espagnol, un peu macho et flic par-dessus le marché que son fils puisse porter une boucle d’oreille et embrasser un homme  à pleine bouche ! Ces situations font bien sûr penser à Woody Allen. Comme cette réflexion que Petra se fait à elle-même après avoir commis une bévue : « Et voilà, j’avais fait toutes les conneries possibles et inimaginables : insulte à un pauvre cinglé de vieux à cause de ma mauvaise humeur, prise de tête sentimentale avec un type que je connaissais à peine et non-assistance à un collègue embourbé dans des problèmes personnels. C’était parfait ! Que me restait-il à faire ? Balancer un coup de pied à un chien, allonger un pain à une petite vieille, cracher sur un bébé ? ». Lucidité encore et toujours. Même quand il s’agit de sa violence. « J’aimais ça, le dérouiller » reconnaît-t-elle après un passage à tabac plutôt rude d’un suspect.
Comédie de mœurs. Critique sociale acerbe. Avec Un Bateau plein de riz Alicia Giménez Bartlett nous livre, à travers son personnage, Petra Delicado, une vision clairvoyante et acide de la vie de ses contemporains. Son meilleur roman.
Dernire mise jour : ( 18-01-2010 )
 
< Prcdent   Suivant >
© 2017 Europolar- powered by jl2i.com
Joomla! est un logiciel libre distribu sous licence GNU/GPL.

Design by syahzul, FlexiSaga.com